Best Readers Ever

You know, it’s funny. Just when I think I’ve gone and alienated pretty much everyone who reads this blog (because, really, who browses the internet searching for a litany of domestic woes?), you overwhelm me with empathetic responses. I’m grateful for those of you who took the time to write encouraging notes and remind me that it’s okay to be a mess sometimes, and acknowledging that working, parenting, and keeping house are often difficult to balance.

My favorite response, though, came from my best friend of 12 years, Miss Meghan Clark, who said,

“All those people that we admire? The Samuel Johnsons and the Ben Franklins who spent their lives writing prolifically, contriving new inventions and changing the world? Yeah, they had SERVANTS. Think about that.”

I HAVE thought about it, frequently, and it’s an excellent point. Thanks, Meg.

And in case you were wondering, things are going better today. I’m making pumpkin chocolate chip oatmeal cookies while the baby naps. They’ll be ready in a few minutes, so come on over if you want one…. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Domesticity, Friendship

One response to “Best Readers Ever

  1. Janet Schamp

    Save one of those cookies for my visit. In the freezer, since its two weeks away. Counting the days…..

Leave a Reply

