Just Admit It

Admit it: you spend most of your waking hours wondering just how big my belly really is these days.

And, while you’re at it, you might as well admit that looking at pictures of people with enormous mid-sections gives you a little ego boost, you slim-jim, you. I know this from personal experience: I spent most of my second trimester watching Biggest Loser reruns on Hulu, usually while eating.

Since today is officially our eighth month wedding anniversary, thus ushering in the blessed month where our little one can be born without anyone calling his legitimacy into question, I shall reward your curiosity.

0

Where's the belly?

Note: I’m not really comfortable with pregnancy photos–I realize that friends and family from far away appreciate them, but I usually require some convincing. Those women who get special maternity photography packages astonish me.

There it is! 98% Baby, 2% Cadbury Eggs

And there you have it, folks: a nearly complete human child in utero.

Doesn’t that make you feel better? Even if your day isn’t going as well as you planned, take a moment to stand up, look down, and assure yourself that you are among the fabulous elite members of the human race who can still see their feet! I plan on rejoining your club eventually, but I’ve still got a few more weeks of playing the incubator.

7 Comments

Filed under Domesticity, Marriage, Mothering

7 responses to “Just Admit It

  1. You? Are adorable. You look great!

  2. Aw, I think you look adorable too :0) I realize it’s probably awkward for the mother-to-be, but it is pretty nice to have to pictures afterwords. When you’re back in your skinny jeans and your little one is a fully legit human. I love seeing pictures of my mom when she was pregnant with Alyosha. Never mind her neat trick of being able to balance a plate on her belly, it’s amazing to look at the 18 year old giant he is today and know that everything necessary to create that fit into such a small space.

  3. I was going with the “you look great” thing, too, but the others beat me to it. :-p

  4. Awww, you guys! Maybe if I had known that belly pictures lead to an outpouring of love and affirmation, I would have put them up every month!

    And Liza, thank you for saying “When you’re back in your skinny jeans” like it’s an inevitability and not merely a remote possibility.

  5. I remember, 8 months ago, watching you stand in that exact spot and beam in the same way for your wedding photos. Ok, maybe you were a tiny bit slimmer, then, but you are happy and gorgeous in both. I love you. I’m excited for Little Good’s arrival.

  6. Erika

    you are still glowing! so that is a good sign! And you look gorgeous. One beautiful momma. And yes, you will one day be able to see your feet again! And it’s glorious 🙂

  7. Janet Schamp

    Actually, I have wondered how big you were getting! Thanks for the pics. Now a video of your waddle would be entertaining.

Leave a Reply

